For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Need your talk or text logs?
mobbo's profile

Tutor

• 

3 Messages

Tuesday, November 18th, 2008 4:02 PM

Closed

AT&T CM & Windows XP SP3 - Cannot Browse

I've been working on this issue for several days now and I'm at a loss. I am an IT Manager for a company that uses hundreds of AT&T aircards in tandem with Dell laptops for many of our employees. I've never ever had an issue with AT&T Communication Manager until we got some new Dell laptops with Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 pre-installed. With ANY AT&T aircard installed, the laptop will connect, get an IP address, and can ping any website out there... but it will NOT let a user browse the internet or receive POP email among other things.

Gear I've tested this on:

-Dell Latitude D820
-Dell Latitude D430
-AT&T Communication Manager 6.09.0115.0
-Cingular Communication Manager 5.4
-Sierra Wireless AirCard 860
-Sierra Wireless AirCard 875
-AT&T USBConnect Mercury

If you have Windows XP SP2 installed, it works like a dream. As soon as you install SP3, you can browse fine until you reboot. Once you reboot, you can connect and ping anything you want, but it will not browse. You also see the following error in the Event Viewer:

"The IP address lease 166.128.6.10 for the Network Card with network address 00A0D5FFFF8D has been denied by the DHCP server 166.128.10.253 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message)."

If the IP address is being dropped by the DHCP service... why can I still ping websites and why can I still see the IP address assigned to the network adapter when I run 'ipconfig /all' in the command prompt?

EDIT:

Also, the card works again if you uninstall the drivers, take the card out, put it back in, and have the drivers re-install automatically... until you reboot. Once you reboot, you cannot browse, check email, etc. but you CAN ping.

Message Edited by mobbo on 11-18-2008 08:20:51 AM

Accepted Solution

Tutor

•