For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Need help connecting your router?
aniko27's profile

Tutor

• 

6 Messages

Friday, May 17th, 2013 4:15 PM

Need to move router upstairs - do I need a tech to come install?

I have U-Verse and have been very happy with it.  I need to move my router upstairs since I am changing locations of my home office and I have to be "hard wired" into it (can't be wireless).  The office I am moving to upstairs has a Cable Jack that had a Uverse receiver plugged in (just a "regular" receiver) and a phone line.  It looks like down here in my current location there is an ethernet connection as well.  Should I just get a technician to come out and install a new one?  Or is there a way to plug another router into the cable upstairs or something?  I'm not very good with hardware, so dumb it down for me please!  Or just tell me to call a technician (I am okay with that!)

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

11 years ago

aniko27 - Hope you have trued the STB and find it works fine for you. You should not notice any degradation.

Because - Having the wire connected to the green plug tells me the RG is NOT fed coax. It is fed with the wire plugged in to the green jack. Seems like extending the wire that is behind the jack that feeds the RG would be just as difficult as running a new cat5 just for the computer (leaving the RG where it is.)

If you cannot use the STB as previously described, it may be best to have att do the move.

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

11 years ago

aniko27 - You probably do not need to move it. You can connect the same way I am. Plug the computer into the network jack on the STB that is connected COAX.

This is not officially supported, but works well for many people.

If you must move it I need to know the model umber of the RG and whether the connection from the NID is COAX or wire.