For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
joshuckman's profile

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Saturday, May 24th, 2014 7:25 PM

Uverse - Had to add a Netgear router because Sonos would not connect to the Uverser Router

Ok.....bare with me folks because I am not that technical.

I have a 3800 Uverse device and shortly after I got a Sonos the controller stopped being able to connect.  After trouble shooting with Sonos they informed me there was a known issue with the current software version on the 3800.  After going without Sonos for a while someone recommended I just buy another router and use it with my Sonos.  I did, hooked it up and it does work but the Netgear router range is awful and it constantly drops on my iphone/laptop or not even shows up as an available network to selection on my devices.  I know this isn't a Sonos or Netgear forum but i'm wondering if there is something I need to do to the 3800 or help?  Or if anyone has been able to connect their Uverse 3800 with Sonos and I really don't need the NetGear router?    Again, not that technical and when trying to reach all over the web the threads quickly go way over my head but one mentioned turning the router off on the 3800 and I have no idea how exactly to do that.

Thanks so much........Joanna 

Community Support

• 

6.7K Messages

10 years ago

Hi @joshuckman,

I apologize about the issues you are having with your connections. If you have not disable the wireless on the U-verse router, then I would definitely suggest doing that first, as it could be conflicting with your Netgear router.

With the connection issues with Sonos, I was not aware of any. I even went to Sonos's forum and found a post where a user was able to use multiple Sonos devices with no problems. He has a 3801, though.

We send you a private message to investigate this further.

-David T

• 

1 Message