For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Protect yourself online
drose977's profile

Tutor

• 

11 Messages

Friday, June 2nd, 2017 2:47 AM

how can i download AT&T webmail including local foldersto a free desktop client like thunderbird?

I have been using AT&T webmail for 17 years and want to transfer all email folders including local folders to a desktop client.  I don't want to have to transfer all my local folders to inbox first and then create identical folders all over again for my desktop.  Can I just download these folders and their contents just as they are?  Thunderbird says I must first move local folder contents to inbox then download and then set up new folders on my desktop client.  Is there another email client that I can use that will download my ATT webmail local folders as they are without having to put them in inbox first?

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

15K Messages

7 years ago

I don't think it's possible.  The yahoo webmail only understands how to send email to an email client from its inbox.

If you want to keep the same mailbox/folder organization in your client you would still have to create all those mailboxes in that client.  To make such a move as safe as possible against mistakes (I'm paranoid) I would probably move each folder one at a time doing the following procedure.  Note, this assumes you flagged your client to not delete email from the server.  I'm also making this up as I am typing this but hopefully there are no bugs.

1. Use the webmail's move operation to move all the contents of a mailbox to the inbox.
  2. Create the mailbox/folder in the email client.
  3. Create the filters needed to move that kind of mail to the client mailbox created in 2.
  4. Tell client to get new mail.  If the filters are correct all the email from webmail inbox should be read and moved into your client's appropriate mailbox created in 2.