For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Need help understanding your bill?
sciencegal's profile

2 Messages

Thursday, December 21st, 2023 1:23 PM

Moving phone number from Business account to a Personal account

Why is this so hard for ATT? 

Called ATT yesterday to move billing of my phone from a business account to personal account due to upcoming job change. As a physician, I was cautious doing this- because having the process not go smoothly might make me unreachable by patients/other physicians. I was assured this process would go easily and smoothly. The process took 2 hours. Then I lost cellular phone access. Went to ATT store to fix issue, spent another two hours there and they basically said: "There is nothing we can do for you, it would probably be faster for you to go to another carrier-- NOT ATT-- to do this" [ATT in Evanston, Illinois] 

Spent another two hours trying to fix the problem-- with someone working from a call center that appeared to be doubling as night-club. It was challenging to listen to them over the Corona "Rhythm of the Night" music blaring in the background. 

THIS is unbridled capitalism... Pervasive incompetence and call centers in night clubs. Hard to know what to do other than expect to give over two days of your life to change billing of a phone line. 

ACE - Sage

• 

117.3K Messages

4 months ago

Transfer of billing responsibility should not be a problem at all. The business has to release the phone number. And within two weeks you have to accept billing responsibility and open and individual personal account with AT&T.

Cannot account for why it was botched in your case.