Find the perfect gift for the grad in your life with Graduation gifts that connects us from AT&T.
Get the myAT&T app
M

• 

1 Message

Tuesday, December 8th, 2020 12:26 AM

Transfer to Liberty

Hi, my account was transferred to Liberty Wireless as part of AT&T's sale of its assets in Puerto Rico and the USVI to Liberty that closed last month. I understand this was done automatically because my phone number has a (787) area code, which is the area code for Puerto Rico, despite the fact that the address associated with my account is in New York City. I opened my account with AT&T in New York City, and since I have been an AT&T customer, I have been a resident of New York City. The address registered to my account is in New York City, and there are no stores or service centers for Liberty in New York. I have been given the runaround by AT&T customer service and technical support who have transferred me from department to department, dropped my call, and only offered me as a solution that I should cancel my current plan and start a new plan with them with a phone number with a NYC area code, effectively erasing my identity, or switch to another service provide. This phone number, which I have had for over 20 years, is much like my name and part of who I am. AT&T's proposed solution is inadequate, and frankly disrespectful. I would hope they find a way to fix this as soon as posible, and would appreciate hearing from other similarly placed Puerto Ricans now living in the mainland US. 

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Community Support

• 

232.1K Messages

3 years ago

We understand your frustration, but the factors of the decision to move customers to Liberty or keep them with AT&T was based on a combination of where they primarily use their phones, phone numbers and billing zip codes. Based on one or more of these factors, per our agreement with Liberty you are now a Liberty customer.

Accepted Solution

ACE - Sage

• 

117.5K Messages

3 years ago

@blaked