Find the perfect gift for the grad in your life with Graduation gifts that connects us from AT&T.
Get superfast AT&T Fiber internet
H

• 

4 Messages

Wednesday, June 23rd, 2021 10:48 PM

Cascade Instructions (LAN to WAN) for AT&T Fiber BGW320-505 To Second Router With Public Static IP Block

I'd like to cascade the BGW320 into my other router that's set up behind it, including managing a block of public static IPs I got. My understanding of what I'm trying to accomplish is to make the BGW320 as hands-off as possible so that the UDMP can manage the firewall and all traffic. I can find instructions for IP passthrough and other bits and pieces of things I need to consider. But I think the public static IP block adds a layer of complication. I've read that I should NOT do IP Passthrough and instead do the cascading thing. Again, I'm not sure and nothing walks me through the entire process that I can follow. I'm new to this stuff and I'm hoping someone can dumb it down enough for me to understand.

Here's what my setup looks like right now:

AT&T Fiber Internet --> BGW320-505 --> Unifi Dream Machine Pro (UDMP) <-- All other devices

• Nothing else is connected to the BGW320 aside from the UDMP (LAN to WAN). That is, an RJ-45 cable is plugged into one of the BGW320's ethernet ports, and the other end is plugged into the "internet" port of the UDMP.
  • The only adjustments I made so far is to disable the BGW320 wifi so as to not interfere with the UDMP wifi access points.
  • As mentioned, I bought a block of 5 usable static public IPs from AT&T. But I'm not sure how to utilize these. The info the AT&T tech provided looks like:
    • Gateway IP XX.XX.XX.206
    • Subnet Mask XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
    • IP Range XX.XX.XX.201 --> XX.XX.XX.205

If your network is working fine why do you want to do any of this?