jessicawang79's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Monday, April 8th, 2013 7:19 AM

Closed

$500 deposit required for International student

Hi there,

Has anyone like myself been asked for putting down $500 as a deposit when you opened up an AT&T account? I'm an International student.

They said the deposit would be returned to me 12 months later if I made these 12 monthly payments on time.

Does anyone have got such deposit back successfully as how they promised?

How and when they refund the deposit to you?

Thanks a lot!

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Expert

• 

13.1K Messages

11 years ago

Deposits of that amount are required for international customers and customers with bad or no credit. You will receive your deposit back, usually by check in the mail, after 1 year of on time payments.
If you have any late payments, they may hold your deposit for another year.
If you cancel your contract before completion, they will take any fee final fees out of your deposit before you receive it.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Former Community Manager

• 

5.2K Messages

11 years ago

Hi there!

kdfederer is correct and here is some additional information about deposits that will answer your questions and help you understand the deposit and refund process. http://www.att.com/esupport/article.jsp?sid=KB409269#fbid=3Ojg6uFNnSc

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Expert

• 

13.1K Messages

11 years ago

When you need to close your account, contact AT&T, They will take any cancellation fees and final bill out of your deposit and will send the remaining balance to where ever you want it sent.

Accepted Solution

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

11 years ago

it WOULD be great to see if/when anyone on here has got their deposit back,or been in a similar situation.
Quiet forums I see.

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

11 years ago

Hi!

Thank you for the reply.