Need help understanding your bill?
ImmaSSJ's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Friday, January 25th, 2013 8:50 PM

Usb Tethering and Unlimited Data Plan

Hello I have an unlimited data plan on my phone. I have been using PdaNet to tether my phones network connection to provide an internet connection to my laptop via USB. What I am wondering is if I am doing this will I see some sort of data charge even though it's unlimited?

Teacher

• 

14 Messages

8 years ago

How does AT&T in accordance with its acceptable use policy define interference? Quoted from https://www.att.com/legal/terms.aup.html AT&T prohibits use of the IP Services in any way that is unlawful, harmful to or interferes with use of AT&T's network or systems, or the network of any other provider, interferes with the use or enjoyment of services received by others…

ACE - Sage

• 

117K Messages

8 years ago

I don't work for ATT.  I'm not a lawyer, and I don't care to dicker policy with you.

ATT has the right to sell you service with rules attached.   The FCC agrees.

If you get caught, they have the right to terminate you plan.

T-mobile went after customers breaking the tethering rules.  

You can go round and round and it will do no good.  I prefer sudoku puzzles, but if this is the hobby that floats your boat, have fun with it.

Employee

• 

3.5K Messages

8 years ago

It does not allow this, at all. It allows for transmission of data between devices YOU own outright. Your computer. Your routers. Yes, your phones but not over the CELLULAR network. You may transfer all you want over WIFI, BLUETOOTH and even through USB but that does not include CELLULAR data. You can modify all you want to move files from your computer to the phone, when it does not involve accessing the celluar data network.