$500 deposit for international student

Voyager

$500 deposit for international student

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I am a international student and joined a AT&T data plan with my friends 6 months ago. Every of us deposited $500 due to we couldn't provide a ssn number. Now I want to terminate my contract individually by paying the early termanation fee. Just wonder if I can get a full refund of my deposit ? If I can, how long should I wait recieve it? And in what method AT&T will send this money back to me? Thanks.

Message 1 of 6 (609 Views)
Employee

Re: $500 deposit for international student

A deposit is generally returned after 12 months of active service without a non-payment suspension.  Keep in mind your account will also need to be active during this time frame for your deposit to be refunded.  A link to a FAQ support article can be found here.

Employee Contributor*
*I am an AT&T employee and the postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent AT&T's position, strategies or opinions.
Message 2 of 6 (569 Views)
Voyager

When I opened the account, the agent promised me that I can suspend the account when I leave the country during the first contract year. I read the support page and it stated that it should be a continuous 12months. I feel like being deceived.
Message 3 of 6 (558 Views)
ACE - Expert

If you close your account prior to the 12 months, any remaining bills (final bill, etf, etc. ) will be taken out of the deposit and the rest returned to you by check.
This is a user to user forum. I am a user, just like almost everyone else on the site.
*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Message 4 of 6 (552 Views)
Employee

Hi chen1344,