Ask a question
Search in Wireless Forums

Wireless Forum

Posted Sep 14, 2011
5:13:23 AM
View profile
samsung captivate 3g vs wi-fi

I am new to the smartphone and my issue.  Should the wi-fi always be on? Do you have to toggle back and forth between the WI-FI on and off for the 3G?

I am new to the smartphone and my issue.  Should the wi-fi always be on? Do you have to toggle back and forth between the WI-FI on and off for the 3G?

samsung captivate 3g vs wi-fi

2 replies
(0) Me too
(0) Me too
View all replies
(2)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Sep 14, 2011 11:16:55 AM
(0)
Master

It doesn't really matters much. Only the slightly different battery usage.

If you have wi-fi signal and can connect, use wi-fi for data transfer uses less battery than 3G. If you don't have wi-fi signal, the phone will constantly scan for wi-fi networks which in turn uses a little bit more battery than just turn it off.

Also, in wi-fi sleep policy, choose 'Never turn off wi-fi when phone screen goes off' will save you some battery juice and data usage if you use wi-fi network by avoiding contantly turning on and off the wi-fi.

It doesn't really matters much. Only the slightly different battery usage.

If you have wi-fi signal and can connect, use wi-fi for data transfer uses less battery than 3G. If you don't have wi-fi signal, the phone will constantly scan for wi-fi networks which in turn uses a little bit more battery than just turn it off.

Also, in wi-fi sleep policy, choose 'Never turn off wi-fi when phone screen goes off' will save you some battery juice and data usage if you use wi-fi network by avoiding contantly turning on and off the wi-fi.

Re: samsung captivate 3g vs wi-fi

2 of 3 (220 Views)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Sep 15, 2011 5:00:58 PM
(0)
ACE - Master
I would not recommend having Wi-Fi turned on all the time unless you plan on using it the whole time it's on. It would drain your battery faster if you had it on all day.