Ask a question

Posted May 20, 2011
    6:26:25 AM
    View profile
    iPhone 3GS, can it be a wifi hotspot? or can it be tethered to iPad 2?

Just upgraded to iPhone 3GS, with the $45 data plan.  My primary purpose of this is to be able to tether my iPad  for wifi when I am not at home.  I thought that I had chosen a capable phone, but now I am being told that perhaps you can only do this with the iPhone 4 unless you want to jailbreak your 3GS, which I do not.  Can anybody clear this up for me?  I am sorry I am not very tech savvy so laymen's terms would be appreciated! Smiley Happy

iPhone 3GS, can it be a wifi hotspot? or can it be tethered to iPad 2?

3 replies
    (0) Me too
    (0) Me too
    View all replies
    (3)
    (0)
    • Rate this reply
    View profile
    May 20, 2011 6:46:37 AM
    (0)
    ACE - Professor
    Edited by johninsj on May 20, 2011 at 6:50:39 AM

vanasscheb wrote:

Just upgraded to iPhone 3GS, with the $45 data plan.  My primary purpose of this is to be able to tether my iPad  for wifi when I am not at home.  I thought that I had chosen a capable phone, but now I am being told that perhaps you can only do this with the iPhone 4 unless you want to jailbreak your 3GS, which I do not.  Can anybody clear this up for me?  I am sorry I am not very tech savvy so laymen's terms would be appreciated! Smiley Happy

You can tether via USB or bluetooth with the 3Gs but you cannot create a wifi Hotspot. That's an iPhone4 only feature.

No Perhaps about it. It's clearly stated in on the AT&T and Apple website.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3574

iPhone requirements

The table below lists the iPhone models capable of Personal Hotspot and which connections they can use to share cellular data with another device:

USBBluetoothWi-Fi
    iPhone 3G* 
    iPhone 3GS 
    iPhone 4
    * On iPhone 3G, Personal Hotspot is referred to as Internet tethering.

And the AT&T site, for the addon says:

DataPro 4GB for iPhone