activating iphone 4

activating iphone 4

I'm new to the iphone and am completetly confused on how to activate the iphone 4, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 37 (166,431 Views)
Teacher

Re: activating iphone 4

Message 2 of 37 (166,352 Views)
Scholar

You plug it in with itunes, itunes should activate the phone.  Maybe, you can try

https://www.wireless.att.com/activations/

Message 3 of 37 (166,339 Views)
Mentor

stupid iphone newbie question 2: since it charges over USB and I have itunes 9.2 installed do I have to charge it in the wall and then connect it to itunes, or can I just plug it straight into the computer and accomplish all 3 at once without bricking the thing....not that I expect that would happen but I'm taking 0 chances

Message 4 of 37 (166,301 Views)
Mentor

USB to your computer also charges the phone provided your computer is on and not "asleep."

Message 5 of 37 (166,279 Views)

[ Edited ]

I plug it into the wall, the beeps and gives the usb/itunes symbol. then after a few seconds it goes black and does nothing. I plug it into my computer and get the same result. If I pull up itunes nothing happens in terms of it updating....is there something I'm missing?

edit: I just ran a diagnostic in itunes and it tells me the iphone wasn't found?

Message 6 of 37 (166,277 Views)
Professor

[ Edited ]

Just activated mine.  Used an online activation link that I got in my confirmation email from Premier, entered the IMEI and SIM (ICCID) on the back of the box, and in less than a minute, it came back with your phone is activated on the phone, and the AT&T network and 3G symbols on the phone display.  Painless activation.  Now connecting to iTunes to sync my stuff to the new phone.

If the status of your device is Complete, the AT&T system has completed activation and you can soon begin using your wireless device.