Why does tethering my iPhone 4 cost me ANYTHING?

Teacher

Why does tethering my iPhone 4 cost me ANYTHING?

I am asking here on the forums because I have spent over 2 hours of my time on the phone with AT&T trying to get an answer.  I would like the capability to tether my phone to my laptop, I do NOT want to use it as a hotspot.  Last I checked, my phone is only capable of sending and receiving a finite amount of data up and dow stream.  Why do I have to pay 15 dollars a month more and give up my old unlimited data plan. When I bought my original iPhone in July 2007, AT&T wouldn't even give me service without an "Unlimited" Data plan.  So I have been paying it for almost 4 years now.  Now they tell me that if I want to keep my evil unlimited plan, no new capabilities for you.  So glad I have been a loyal customer.  All I want is the option to tether without the hotspot, that way they know I can't abuse the network and I don't get rubbed the wrong way to the point that I go to Verizon out of spite.  I don't want to jailbreak my phone.  I would prefer that AT&T allow me to do this legally.  Again, over 2 hours on the phone with them has yielded me nothing, not even an explanation as to why.  "Well sir, that is above my level", alright, connect me to that level please.  If anyone has input (AT&T folks please) it would be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 155 (82,996 Views)
Professor

Re: Why does tethering my iPhone 4 cost me ANYTHING?

Tethering is not allowed on the Unlimited data plan, never has been for an iPhone.

Tethering requires the Data Pro plan, this is AT&T's rules.

Your options:

1) accept it and move on.

2) Look for another provider.

Regardless of whether you utilize the Wi-Fi hotspot, Bluetooth, or a physical cable, it is tethering and requires a tethering plan.

Message 2 of 155 (82,957 Views)
Professor