[Q] Help/advice getting my AT&T upgrade earlier?

Contributor

[Q] Help/advice getting my AT&T upgrade earlier?

I'm due for a device upgrade on Aug 3rd. I really don't want to wait that long (who ever does?), so I called AT&T and sweettalked the ATT lady (being nice pays off!) She said I'm not technically eligible yet, but it's close enough that she would put a note on my account saying that ATT CS authorized me to do an early upgrade for regular upgrade price. Yay!

I've settled on the HTC One X as my next device, and I found an awesome deal for it at a local AT&T reseller ($99 instead of the $199 most other places charge). The only problem is that apparently "AT&T 'Authorized Resellers' " don't have any access to the "account notes", and even if they did, they can't override an early upgrade. So I'm in a catch 22 - I could get it cheap at the reseller (but I'd have to wait until Aug 3), OR I could (apparently, with the note on my account) walk into AT&T TODAY and upgrade (but I'd have to pay the full $200 for the phone).

Any ideas on how I might swing the early upgrade at the awesome price? I want my cake, and I wanna EAT it TOO, darnit!! I called CS and asked if they could change the actual upgrade date on my account instead of just putting a note on it, but they said that's only ever done if it was entered incorrectly.

Message 1 of 6 (931 Views)
Highlighted

Re: [Q] Help/advice getting my AT&T upgrade earlier?

Perhaps you could visit an AT&T Corporate Store & ask them about price-matching. If they're not willing to do that, you could ask them to print out the notes section of your account.

Message 2 of 6 (892 Views)
Contributor

Thanks for the suggestion.  Unfortunately, I don't think printing out the notes section would help, since the ATT resellers say it's not that they are UNWILLING to do an early upgrade - they aren't even CAPABLE of doing it.