Microcell - No Data, Slow Data, Inconsistent Data

Teacher

Microcell - No Data, Slow Data, Inconsistent Data

I am a disappointed owner of a MicroCell, and have had it for about 7 days. 

Specific to my data performance, I'm having three horrible frustrations:

1) No Data - About 60% of the time, data does not flow to my iPhone 3GS.  Safari pages return "server could not be contacted", and Mail returns "unable to receive mail." 

2) Slow Data - About 20% of the time, the data is painfully slow.  MUCH slower than data speeds when I'm connected to the regular AT&T 3G network, with about 3-4 bars. 

3) Regular Data - About 20% of the time, I experience normal data speeds.  Speed is about the same as the 3G network, but I would expect it to be MUCH faster, given I'm on a 10Mb down, 1.5Mb up cable connection. 

I work in IT, so I've gone through all of the AT&T troubleshooting steps.....twice.  I called tech support, where the first time, the condescending rep walked me through what he called their "decision tree".  This was nothing more than having me repeat the steps already online on the AT&T support pages. 

I called AT&T back again when the first call didn't resolve the issue.  They "opened a ticket", and said "a tier 2 person would call me in 48 hours or less".  

No call.  No nothing. 

I've read in the forums about AT&T being aware of this, that there may be a firmware update pushed out, etc, but no one at AT&T knew about this. 

On top of that, about 30% of my calls have given me quality issues.  The audio I hear of the caller is choppy. 

Who else is having this issue?  Thoughts?

Message 1 of 15
Teacher

Re: Microcell - No Data, Slow Data, Inconsistent Data

Welcome to the club.

I also have the no data, slow data problem.