MicroCell in North Carolina - Horrible Service

Teacher

MicroCell in North Carolina - Horrible Service

I have had my MicroCell here in Greenville, NC for about 10 months, and it has done very little to ease my AT&T frustrations.  I regularly experience issues such as:

- Call Quality Problems: Others report that my voice cuts in and out.  I usually have to call them back.

- Outages: The MicroCell seems to intermittently become unavailable.  

Has anyone else in NC dealt with these issues?  And/or resolved them?

(I work in IT, so many times I have been through all of the standard troubleshooting steps) 

Message 1 of 24 (2,135 Views)
Guru

Re: MicroCell in North Carolina - Horrible Service

The Microcell is an incredibly troubled device, and AT&T has an abysmal support track record for it. The last time I talked to them about the problems I was having they told me that the Microcell would either work or it wouldn't, and if I didn't like it, I could sell it on eBay.

However, one problem that you mention sticks out to me as being something that can be solved.

Anytime anyone reports that their audio cuts in and out from the other party's vantage point, that makes me immediately suspect an uplink congestion issue. That is, you probably either have a relatively small uplink channel or you're using it quite a lot.

AT&T's recommended solution to this is the so-called "priority mode" installation, where you run all your traffic through the Microcell so that it can prioritize its own traffic over your LAN. The problem is that the Microcell is so flaky that I would never trust it with such an important position on my network. And if you have PPPoE, then this configuration won't work in any event.

No, the better thing to do is to examine your router's QoS configuration to do whatever it takes to give your Microcell's packets priority over the rest of your traffic. With proper traffic shaping, I would expect that that symptom would disappear.