Iphone data plan without ssn

Tutor

Iphone data plan without ssn

I'm an international student and i do not have a SSN. I want to upgrade to iphone 4s but I was told that 25/mo data plan is required for iphone if i do not have a SSN. And for other smartphones, only 15/mo data plan is required. Is that true?

Thanks you

Message 1 of 10
Tutor

Re: Iphone data plan without ssn

eh..anyone here know about this?
Message 2 of 10
Professor

hgh0518 wrote:

I'm an international student and i do not have a SSN. I want to upgrade to iphone 4s but I was told that 25/mo data plan is required for iphone if i do not have a SSN. And for other smartphones, only 15/mo data plan is required. Is that true?

Thanks you

Yes you need the data plan no way around it. if your on a 2 year contract you need this plan.  and yes you need a SSN they run your credit also and if your Credit is bad you are asked to pay a deposit of 500$

Message 3 of 10
Expert

How do you get an iPhone in the first place w/o an SSN?

Message 4 of 10
Professor

You may need to put down a deposit and will definitely need to buy a data plan, but I've never heard of anyone forced to use only the higher priced data plan.
Message 5 of 10
Tutor

Yes, i paid 500 deposit for the family plan and i know i have to purchase a data plan.
I just don't know if i have to get the 25/mo rather than 15/mo, because 2GB is really too much for me.

The store manager told me about 25/mo without ssn...so i dont know if it is true

Message 6 of 10
Expert

Try contacting Jam, one of the Community Managers via PM.  She can probably find out what you need to do.

hgh0518 wrote:

Yes, i paid 500 deposit for the family plan and i know i have to purchase a data plan.
I just don't know if i have to get the 25/mo rather than 15/mo, because 2GB is really too much for me.

The store manager told me about 25/mo without ssn...so i dont know if it is true

Message 7 of 10
Tutor

Thank you, i'll try this.
Message 8 of 10
Expert