How To: Force the NoDo Update

Highlighted
Teacher

How To: Force the NoDo Update

I have an AT&T branded Samsung Focus.  I am located on the west coast of the United States.  I used the instructions on the following page (link below) to successfully update my phone with both the pre-NoDo and NoDo updates.

http://wmpoweruser.com/samsung-focus-nodo-how-to/#idc-cover

I am not a computer programmer, I do not know what a registry is, and I have never "jail broken" a phone before.  I was however, still able to complete this process.

Here is a screen shot of my phone, post updates:

Here are some tips (i.e. helpfull info I learned when performing this task):

- Use the links on the direction page to download the neccessary files.

- Save the .XAP files to your desktop so that when it comes time to use them you'll have quick access (some of the steps are time sensitive).

- When you get to the step: 

"On the phone, navigate to

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\DeviceReg] "PortalUrlProd"="" "PortalUrlInt"=""

and delete those registry values (not entries)

I was not able to complete this step.  When I went to "DeviceReg" it would say somthing about "access not allowed" or something.  I just continued on with the process as if it had worked.

- When you get to the step to download "WithinRaphael's Samsung Registry XAP here" click the link in the words "Samsung Registry XAP here".  When you get to the website, there is a link to the file under the heading "attached files" midway down the page.  -- I had to create a profile in order to download this file.  It is free and they sent me the conformation of account email with in seconds of completing the sign-up process.

- When you get to the step to connect to "EUROIP PPTP Hungary" pay attention to what you are connecting to.  There are many options and they look similar.  Also, remember that this connection will close automatically after 7 minutes; so be preparred to move to the next step.