Ask a question

Posted Feb 9, 2011
9:33:31 AM
Better explanations, to understand how certain things can be done, or even, if they can.

I own a Samsung Captivate, that like so many other Galaxy S owners in the USA, for some obnoxious reason, can not be updated to Android 2.2, while it seems the rest of the world, is moving ahead. I don't think that these issues are due to not having Android 2.2, but I'm new in high smart phone neighborhood, and using AT&T Tutorials, simply don't tell me enough. Can you provide the answers to these questions?

1. As high class as the Captivate is, are you able to make video calls, to other mobile users? Granted, there is no forward facing camera, but you could use the back view, if it were possible. Take for instance, if I wanted to show some video, either that I have already recorded, or simply panning the area I'd like to talk to someone about, is this possible? Or do I have to prerecord the video, send it to my friend, and then after they view it, have our conversation, then? I was under the impression, that the Captivate, COULD Multi task, but the online manual, I seem to not find out how to. Does that mean you can't? And if not, is that why you can't video talk with someone? I'm not knowledgeable in this area, so please help me understand.

2. Talking to various AT&T Tech support by phone, I quickly learned that not all tech support, should be getting paid by AT&T. Not only am I told there are certain features to the Captivate that comes already loaded, but the Tutor help, will show mw how to do it. Well, I was told there was a great feature already loaded, that allowed you to assign photo's, to different people's contact names, and when they'd call you, their photo would appear on screen. I had a great program I found at get.jar, for my Nokia N73, which did just that. Can you tell me where the great app is located, on my Captivate? And how to activate it, when I find it?