Another AT&T Rip-off

Contributor

Another AT&T Rip-off

[ Edited ]

I am a physician in practice 30 years and an AT&T Small Business customer for the past (3)  years so what I am about to tell you is, I promise accurate.  When I upgraded my iPhone in April, 2011, the store representative apparently put a data plan without my knowledge on an unused line that is part of my plan, and AT&T has been charging me for the data plan on that line without my knowledge since then (even though I didn't approve that, and there was no phone using the line until 8 months later in Dec).  The reason I found out was because I finally used that line for a cell phone for my son (a Christmas present) and the store rep said, "Oh--they (AT&T) have been charging you for a data plan since you upgraded--I guess we didn't take it off like we should have. I can't do anything about it--you'll have to call customer service."  I just got off the phone with customer "service"--the rep would not give me his name and refusedI to give me his supervisors number, was rude and kept telling me that there was no 'reason' I should be able to talk to a supervisor.  His offer was to refund a maximum of (3) out of the (8) months I paid the plan, even though AT&T made the mistake and never took the data plan off the line that wasn't being used.  I had a similar problem (actually much worse) with web charges on my daughter's phone a year or two ago, and AT&T made it extremely difficult and painful to get any kind of resolution on the problem (I never got a full refund, but I did get something back, and I'm still out about $1,000).  The rep this time would give me no alternative numbers or people to call--he just kept telling me the same thing--'stonewalling' the issue.  It is just unbelievable that a company the size and responsibility of AT&T's could ever treat customers this way.  Their practices are designed to make it practically impossible for a customer to be recompensed for a billing mistake they make, t