About 'customer service'

Highlighted

About 'customer service'

I've been visiting this site off and on for a few years now, and I understand that the reason for these forums is for customers to vent, and get help on a peer-to peer basis.  I've also seen quite a trend of 'customer service is horrible'.  There are times where this is definitely true.. I would be the last one to say otherwise.. but I think ( and I may be wrong) that sometimes the problem comes from and expectation, however correct or not it may be, that is not met.  So I'm going to add my perspective (10 years customer service, 5 in a 'customer service' call center).

This is part1 of my post.. I'l put the other part up tomorrow.  

customer service
Part of Speech:  n
Definition:  assistance and other resources that a company provides to the people who buy or use its products or services
customer service. (n.d.). Dictionary.com's 21st Century Lexicon. Retrieved September 08, 2010, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/customer service

For those who think that the only stress the rep you're talking to is from their conversation with you.. this is what may be going on in their minds..
:
Get my greeting right.. and all the info.. otherwise I'll fail the call..
Get the issue figured out.. and resolved.. or I might fail the call..
Hit all the resolving points.. (key phrases, details of changes, features, etc).. or I might fail the call
End the call properly.. or I might fail the call

And if you've noticed a trend.. well, that recording that call may be monitored.. they really do.. and those results determine if the rep gets a raise.. and how much it is... along with the average time it takes for the rep to handle calls, how accurate they are following schedules.. etc..
And if you answer one of those surveys.. that gets counted too.