TheKingfish's profile

Tutor

• 

12 Messages

Monday, March 10th, 2014 12:41 PM

Prospects for Streaming to TV

Lots of buzz about streaming these days, so thought I would check in to understand what my latest how-to capability looks like.  I am a U-verse subscriber and own a 2012 Smart TV from Samsung.  That TV is linked directly to the Internet via Ethernet cable (8 Mbps download).  It has a number of apps and a browser; I believe I can download additional apps as needed.

I’m a novice in this area and wonder what free stuff can conveniently be had (network channels, etc.).  I’m not real keen on paying AT&T more bucks, but have an open ear to what is available.  So going forward, is there a specific app or best method for me?  Again, I am just looking for some basic direction/advice and appreciate your time and input.

Thank you,

TheKingfish

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

10 years ago

TheKingfish - All the various device manufacturers want in on the market for internet access & offer some level of access. But, it is hard to beat the original - the computer.

I was lucky in timing that HDMI interface just became available when I was in the market for a computer. It is great to have the big flat panel connected to both U-verse TV and the computer browser for internet with wireless mouse and keyboard for control.

If your computer does not have HDMI output there are many other choices. Here is a link with tutorial (click on learning center) & connecting cables/converters for sale - http://sewelldirect.com/articles/PCtoTV.aspx

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

10 years ago

TheKingfish - from my perspective, the basic direction is that you will have to poke around to find out if you can watch anything that you want to watch - especially for no cost or in some cases how much it will cost to watch something that you are specifically interested in.