TheKingfish's profile

Tutor

• 

12 Messages

Saturday, May 4th, 2013 3:19 AM

HD Viewing Area

I am new to both HDTV product and U-verse, and need a short primer on what is considered the ‘normal viewing’ area with this combination.  Originally I watched full-screen; the TV viewing area utilized in full.  I then ordered up the HD signal and the screen went to the dark band above/below, with some channels showing a full four bands; one on each side.  The former is a 20% reduction; the latter a 35% reduction of viewing area.  Both significant.  Of course, the old less-resolution pre-HD view was 0% reduction.

Is this lessened area a normal function of HD or are there TV/U-verse remedial changes that can be made?  In other words, is this the deal or am I missing something?  If the latter -- this would not be the first time in life that I missed something........

Thank you,

TheKingfish

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

14.5K Messages

11 years ago

In order to receive an HD picture, you will need to connect the U-verse receiver to the HDTV with either an HDMI cable or component cables (red, green, blue).  Using a coaxial cable will result in the issues that you are reporting..  

Expert

• 

14.5K Messages

11 years ago

A few questions:

1. Are you seeing this while watching the HD channels (1000 - 1999) or the SD channels (2 - 999)?

2. How is the U-verse receiver connected to your U-verse receiver? (HDMI cable, component cables, composite cables, or coaxial cable)

3. What aspect ratio is set on the U-verse receiver?  (1080i, 720p, Widscreen standard definition or 4:3 standard definition)

4. What is the brand of your HDTV?  What is the Screen setting on your TV?

Tutor

• 

12 Messages

11 years ago

I appreciate your feedback/assistance.  Answers: