Best Way to Connect New Sony Blu-Ray

Tutor

Best Way to Connect New Sony Blu-Ray

I am a novice here (so don't laugh.)  I just got a new Sony Blu-Ray and need to know the best way to connect it to the TV/Uverse box in the bedroom (what to plug where.)  There are no other components connected there.  The Blu-Ray has WiiFii capability and the router is in another part of the house.

Message 1 of 23 (12,224 Views)
Mentor

Re: Best Way to Connect New Sony Blu-Ray

Something I missed when I posted (a week ago!), is the fact part of your initial question was about a network connection.  Most EVERY piece of equipment (Set-top-box, DVD player, Apple TV/Google TV) and the TV itself will have a network port anymore.  Depending on what piece of equipment you connect via your network, you will get different results.  Most will have Netflix capability, Pandora, and, possibly an Internet browser.  All that's necessary is a network cable connection (Cat-5) from your U-verse modem to the piece of equipment.  The (HDMI?) cable that runs from the piece of equipment to the TV will also, then, carry whatever service you choose and it will appear on the TV.

Message 16 of 23 (10,007 Views)
Highlighted
Tutor

maybe i should start a new post, but i have a similar problem.

i'm trying to connect my sony blu ray bdp s3100 to at&t uverse cable box via HDMI.  so i make the connection, but i can't get a picture.

i have a samsung tv, and i'd prefer to just go straight to the tv. but this is an older model and doesn't have hdmi.

i don't consider myself a novice, but maybe i am.  what am i missing??  thanks for any help!

Message 17 of 23 (9,188 Views)
ACE - Expert
Solution
Accepted by aviewer (ACE - Expert)
‎09-30-2015 1:39 AM