Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Transfer shows from DVR to Computer/flash dive

Contributor

Transfer shows from DVR to Computer/flash dive

Is there an EASY way to transfer what's on my DVR to my computer or to a flash drive? I'm not very tech savvy so the easiest possible way is best. I have a bunch of shows on there that aren't available to watch online and I recorded them so I could use them in the classroom. As a teacher on a limited budget, I really can't pay to rent or buy all the science/history based shows I've recorded. Thanks for the help!!

Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable
Solution
Accepted by ACE - Expert (ACE - Expert)
Accepted by skeeterintexas
‎06-02-2017 7:11 AM

Re: Transfer shows from DVR to Computer/flash dive

No licensing will not let you copy or share programs recorded from DVR.

Tags (1)
Message 2 of 4
ACE - Expert

I have a thought and a soft place for (overworked and underpaid) teachers. 

IF you could get your hands on a VCR and some VHS tapes (this might be impossible), hook up the VCR to the TV with Uverse TV service, play the program on said TV and record it onto a VHS tape.  It would be easy enough to hook the VCR to a TV in your classroom (do they still have TVs in classroom?).

WARNING:  Expect your students to either laugh or ask "what is that?" when you pull out a VHS tape.

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Message 3 of 4
ACE - Expert