aimeekate's profile

Tutor

• 

10 Messages

Tuesday, March 26th, 2013 10:45 PM

HDMI error/H1005 -hdcp link integrity check failed

I am having problems with my TV signal only when I turn it on for the first time. Blinks on and off, eventually gives me the blue screen with HDMI error/H1005. I have talked to tech support many times and have a new box with same issue. If I unplug the box and reboot it I finally get a picture. Everything is hooked up through my Yamaha receiver.  I have changed HDMI cables out of TV and out of box to receiver. ATT support thinks their equipment is fine. Seems to me if unplugging it makes it reboot and work fine it is their problem. Any suggestions??

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Employee

• 

1 Message

10 years ago

i'm a uverse tech in ohio and have come across this numerous times. If you get an HDMI error, it is NEVER the set top box, NOR your TV. It is the HDMI cord itself. The reason is because the hdmi cord will lose its integrity from being bent and unplugged. ALSO, the hdmi cord backfeeds static from the TV into the set top box. The best way to take full advantage of HD and maintain a quality service, is to ditch the HDMI cord and go to Component. Component cords are the Green Blue and Red cords. No you will not lose the quality of HD, because TV providers broadcast at a maximum of 1080i. Never 1080p. Hdmi cords are absolutely useless unless you are using them on a blueray player watching a blueray disc. 

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

11 years ago

aimeekate - What is make model of TV?
Sounds like out of synch on the HDMI.
Try direct to TV - Then turn on TV first, then STB.
Same with receiver - Turn on TV first, then rcvr, then STB.

Connect TV using component instead of through rcvr. Leave rcvr connection in place for audio.

• 

25.7K Messages

11 years ago