For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
skaleyta's profile

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Friday, December 16th, 2011 5:01 PM

Coax coupler

Uverse newbie here.  Had Uverse installed 3 weeks  ago.  Tech used existing RG6 cables, but put all new end connectors on.  I have 3 receivers.  There is a splitter in the line for the  basement receiver.  I would like to temporarily eliminate the  basement TV. 

Do I replace the splitter with a coupler?  If so, any advice on selecting/purchasing/ordering a coupler?

Thanks in advance,

Scott

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

9.4K Messages

12 years ago

Any coupler will work, just make sure the coax connectors are screwed into the coupler tight. (Actually use a wrench and tighten them about 1/8-1/4 turn past finger tight).

Professor

• 

1.3K Messages

12 years ago

How many recievers are connected to the gateway via coax? If it's just two then yes all you would want to do is connect the cable that you want TV on to the end that is coming from the gateway. If all three are connected via coax, you'll want to get a smaller splitter. In terms of splitters, I have found these splitters to be the exact same ones that a U-verse tech uses.

http://www.techtoolsupply.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=holland+hpna+splitter

Also, make sure that it's actually a splitter and not the HPNA adapter that is sending the signal to/from the gatway and to the STBs in your house. If it looks like one of those in my link you're safe. If all three connections are found on the same side, that's the HPNa adapter.

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

12 years ago

skaleyta - I must be missing something. If you are not going to use a TV just dont use it. Maybe unplug the STB to save electricity,

In fact, I had the same situation - four jack splitter - discontinue 2 TVs - first I left the wire in place then I pulled it out splitter still there.