Re: Switched back to Uverse need to keep my longtime Bellsouth email accounts
According to section 5.a. of the terms of service for AT&T HighSpeed Internet (which applied to you as an AT&T Residential DSL customer following the Bellsouth acquisation.)
5. Termination or Cancellation of Service
a. Cancellation of Service by Customer. When you purchased the Service, you agreed to a specific price and plan, which may have included a term. You agree that if you cancel your plan before the end of the term, you will pay the early termination feeassociated with that plan. At the conclusion of your term or if you did not sign up for a term plan, the term for your Service will be month-to-month. When you cancel your service, your account ID e-mail address will remain active, as will all e-mail subaccounts you have created. The e-mail accounts may be accessed from the att.net website.
Based on this information, you should still be able to access your e-mail account (which is handled by AT&T - Yahoo!). This would be a cancellation by customer, in order to upgrade to U-Verse.