Signal drops off when picture is paused

Signal drops off when picture is paused

Hi, I have a VIP1216 DVR hooked up to my Onkyo TX SR608 AV receiver. It is hooked up via a HDMI cable. The problem I am having is whenever I pause, fast forward, or rewind the signal will drop out and then come back on. When I am watching TV it works normally without any issues. I have an Apple TV setup via HDMI on the same AV receiver and it works perfectly without any drop signal issues.

I have tried using different HDMI ports on the AV receiver but i run into the same problem. I am new to U-verse and use to have Directv and had that DVR hooked up the same way and never had any of these problems.

Thanks in advance for any input or help.

George the new guy.

Message 1 of 15 (951 Views)
Employee

Re: Signal drops off when picture is paused

Believe this to be a HDMI handshaking issue with compatibility between DVD nd AV.
Try hooking up dvr direct to TV with HDMI cable and run same set of tests, if no issues direct connected then may need to switch to 5 component cable from dvr to AV unit.
Note: 5 component cable has no issues in displaying 720p or 1080i pic/sound found on uverse dvrs and set top boxes. HDMI is needed for best pic/sound on 1080p blue ray players.
Employee Contributor*
*I am an AT&T employee and the postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent AT&T's position, strategies or opinions.
Message 2 of 15 (946 Views)

Thanks for the reply, I did hook it up directly to the TV via HDMI and there was no problem. I would really like to keep using my HDMI connection on the AV receiver. I will keep trying different things, I may have another AV receiver I can try but I really think it is a VIP1216 issue.
Message 3 of 15 (948 Views)
ACE - Expert

curiousgeorgem - Swap the1216 with another 1216 or the DVR to see if it is that specific 1216. Also, check with Onkyo to see if they have a software update for the problem.