Ability to purchase Newe Modem to avoid Rental Fee

Contributor

Ability to purchase Newe Modem to avoid Rental Fee

Is it possible to purchase a AT&T U-Verse Modem that would do TV - Phone - Internet?

I am a Senior Network Engineer - and would like to own the equipment so that I can in hopes get the newest models possible. I currently have a 3801HGV and I dis-like it because it has wireless b/g and not n. I also don't like it because I can't turn DHCP off so I can run it on my own internal server. I was hoping that by purchasing one I could have some of theses features..

Also on a side note - is it possible to have multiple IP address's passed through to a router - so that I can give one IP to a webserver, another to my xbox one and the other to say a different server?

Message 1 of 6 (711 Views)
Employee

Re: Ability to purchase Newe Modem to avoid Rental Fee

Iptv requires leased RG, if internet and voip only FTTN single pair install (such as 3801) may purchase 3600 (b/g) or 5031 (b/g/n) for $100. Both of these units have (4) 10/100 port switches.

You may also purchased and place behind the newest, latest,greatest for your home network but for connection on a Uverse account must have correct authentication only available on leased or purchased ATT RGs.
Employee Contributor*
*I am an AT&T employee and the postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent AT&T's position, strategies or opinions.
Message 2 of 6 (685 Views)
ACE - Master

And to add to this, you can order static IP's from AT&T for your server, etc.  Here is some information: http://www.att.com/esupport/article.jsp?sid=KB401631&cv=803#fbid=euBkPSjxPr-

"If you find this post helpful and it solved your issue please mark it as a solution.  This will help other forum members locate it and will also let everyone know that it corrected your problem. If they have the same issue they will know how to solve theirs"