Posted Jul 4, 2008
7:35:54 AM
Wireless Question
When I have ATT U-verse installed how does the wireless network work?  I mean, I have a laptop (wireless ready) and a desktop (that needs a router) so will ATT provide a router?  Will I need to do something else to connect my laptop to the ATT network?  I'm very new to the wireless world and just don't want any surprises.  Thank you for your help!

Wireless Question

8 replies
(0) Me too
(0) Me too
Cancel
Submit
View all replies
(8)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Jul 4, 2008 8:09:04 AM
(0)
Master

the uverse supplied router is for tv phone and internet... it has 4 ports ethernet as well as wireless capable...

if yout laptop has a wireless card the tech will use that and supply one usb 2wire adapter for the desktop most likely.

if u can get the desktop wired with ethernet (cat5 etc) i would go that route imo for less connectivity issures..

randy

Re: Wireless Question

2 of 9 (1,030 Views)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Jul 4, 2008 8:28:37 AM
(0)
Tutor
Thank you!

3 of 9 (1,030 Views)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Jun 28, 2009 1:58:29 PM
(0)
Contributor
I have had att u-verse for over a year and i have the 3800HGV-B router. I stopped using the wireless feature for awhile because i run off of an ethernet cord. I wanted to use it recently and my network would not show up. so i looked at the router and the wireless light if not on or blinking. I then searched online for troubleshooting information and nothing helped. As you can see by the picture the wireless settings simply arent there. I have nooo idea why this is. Can anyone offer some suggestions? id really rather fix this myself without calling customer service.screenie.jpg

4 of 9 (1,030 Views)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Jun 28, 2009 2:02:07 PM
(0)
Contributor