Helpful Links

Uverse v DSL

Contributor

Uverse v DSL

Overview:

I had ATT DSL before switching to Uverse. I'm a technical consultant for HP, so don't worry about throwing jargons my way. With DSL, I had a G router, no problems with speed, then purchased an N (of course even better). When, I switched to Uverse (6MB), there's a considerable lag. Bandwidth testing can range from 2.8MB/s to max. I have three machines, two PCs and a MAC, all suffering. I called support and of course all they do is read scripts that are all amateur BS.

My question is, is it my distance from an ATT substation? Has anyone had this problem? I refuse put my old router behind their POS Uverse router. I'm paying for a service.

One last question, should I switch back to DSL?

Thanks everyone!

Message 1 of 4

Re: Uverse v DSL

If you want N speeds, you're going to have to hook up your router behind the RG. Regardless of what any tech support person tells you, the RG that is provided with UVerse is not N rated.  Distance from the vrad would limit  you to what you can recieve depending on how far, 12 would be the highest if you were too far away.

” Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports … all others are games.”- Ernest Hemingway
Message 2 of 4
Scholar

Okay HP jargon man ...

As the last poster said, if you want 802.11n, you must provide your own router that has an 802.11n radio in it.  The 2wire RG provided by AT&T supports only 802.11b/g.  Many have found that a router behind router setup will improve your performance - both via providing 802.11n wireless benefits, as well as the additional router managing your various PC clients will offload some of the memory and CPU requirements from the RG - net net, increasing your performance.