Media share with a Mac computer

Tutor

Media share with a Mac computer

I recently saw that I now have media share.  When I went to set it up, it appears that it will only work with a Windows computer system.  Does anyone know of a work around or if U-verse will be expanding the system to include Mac computers?
Message 1 of 9 (3,242 Views)
Mentor

Re: Media share with a Mac computer

I've called tier II support, said they're working on it:smileytongue:  

This might help.  http://utalk.att.com/utalk/board/message?board.id=DVR&thread.id=10508&view=by_date_ascending&page=11

Message 2 of 9 (3,242 Views)
Teacher

boy, that would be great!

I'm brand new to UV and would really enjoy sharing my pix on the big screen.

of course, I'd like to watch some of those recorded shows from my new DVR on my mac, but I understand that ain't happening on any PC 

Message 3 of 9 (3,242 Views)
Highlighted
Tutor

OK people.  I was able to get Uverse Media Share to work with my iMAC.  The trick is simply Twonky Media and select WindowsCE based client (this should come as no surprise that Uverse is simply Motorola Hardware running WindowsCE).  Bad news though, Twonky is still working out the kinks on Pictures so they won't work.  I was only able to get Music to work.

Note:  I've tried all the other MAC Media Servers:  Connect360, Rivet, Playback, etc.  None of them work. 

Step  by Step Instructions:

1) Download Twonky Media  http://www.twonkymedia.com

2) Install Twonky Media - Please note that my install left me with an expired trial version (shame on you Twonky!).  You can tell this by clicking on Server Status.  I just purchased the product for $29.95.  I would go ahead and do this.  Trust me, it really works.  Your config page will now appear.  

3) If your trial version has expired, Register the product and click maintenance, then click restart server

4) Click First Steps and Set your Host Name to "JamesRocks"  (j/k set it to a 8 character hostname)