Helpful Links

How to make my desktop computer wireless?

Contributor

I have U-Verse internet.  My wireless laptops all connect to it. 

Sadly, however, my desktop is too far away from the U-Verse router and, therefore, can't be hardwired in for an internet connection.

I was told to buy a wireless router for my desktop.  Will this work?  I bought a D-Link wireless router but can't seem to figure out how to get this D-Link wireless router to talk to the U-Verse router.

Please help!!

Thanks in advance

Message 1 of 13
Teacher

Re: How to make my desktop computer wireless?

Not sure on how you are trying to link and I have limited experience with routers but I always thought you linked (hard wired) routers to your network and then connected to your router wirelessly.  Never heard of linking router to router wirelessly.  In otherwords I have not heard of it being done I have not experience in knowing if it is possible.  Quickest connection I know of would be to get a wireless card/adapter and connect using the same  configuration set-up as your wireless laptops.  Depending on your desktop age you should be able to purchase a USB adapter and connect that way.
Message 2 of 13
Scholar

To make your Desktop wireless you need one of these.

http://www.frys.com/category/Outpost/Networkingtab/Wireless+Networking/Wireless+Adapters?accipterAre...

Then run the connection wizzard just like for the laptops.

Message 3 of 13
Contributor

@bsm - so, I dont need the D-Link wireless router at all?  If so, that would save me some $$.  Thanks
Message 4 of 13
Guru

Didn't you say your laptops are already connected in wireless mode? Providing your desktop has a wireless adapter (you can get a free USB adapter from AT&T), you should be able to connect it as well.

The only folks who use their own wireless routers are (a) those who already have one and want to preserve their exixting LAN configuration; or (b) those who insist on 802.11n (the 2Wire is b/g only).