Ask a question
Search in U-verse Forums

U-verse Forums

Posted Nov 8, 2007
9:54:07 PM
View profile
Any Mac OS X Mail users out there?
I can't get the outgoing mail server to accept my username and password.

The settings should be correct:

smtp.att.yahoo.com
Server port: 465
SSL is checked.

I have my complete email address as the username and my password saved, but i can't get it to work.

Any suggestions?

smtp.att.yahoo.com
SSL is checked.

I have my complete email address as the username and my password saved, but i can't get it to work.

Any suggestions?

Any Mac OS X Mail users out there?

17 replies
(0) Me too
(0) Me too
View all replies
(17)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Nov 9, 2007 2:15:33 AM
(0)
Expert
I have very little experience with Mac OS, and none with the mail client; but I think what you are trying to do is get your ATT/Yahoo! e-mail to forward to your Mac mail?

These are the settings I use (Windows/Outlook Express):
 (I am sbcglobal.net)

pop.att.net (Incoming)
smtp.att.net (Outgoing)
yourusername at att.net
your password
 (server requires authentication/same settings as incoming mail server)

My SMTP port is 25
My POP3 port is 110

Not sure if Mac ports are different than PCs. :smileywink:

Try removing the yahoo part from what you now have and use .net (instead of .com) if the above doesn't work for you.

If you are attempting to forward plain Yahoo mail to your Mac mail account, I doubt that is possible unless you upgrade to Yahoo's paid service.  They did allow forwarding in the past, then discontinued it for their paid service. 
But the ATT/Yahoo should let you do forwarding.

Can you go to yahoo.com and login with yourusername at .att.net?

jrnewhouse wrote:

smtp.att.yahoo.com
SSL is checked.

Any suggestions?

I have very little experience with Mac OS, and none with the mail client; but I think what you are trying to do is get your ATT/Yahoo! e-mail to forward to your Mac mail?