CatladyDane's profile

Teacher

• 

22 Messages

Friday, November 22nd, 2013 2:37 PM

Laptop wifi failure at home 2WIRE347

I have acquired a laptop and have verified that it does connect to wifi at other locations.  At home I have a 2WIRE347 router for u-verse internet.  When I attempt to connect laptop it identifies the wifi connection but shows "limited availability".  Diagnostics returns "Wireless Network Connection doesn't have a valid IP configuration".  My desktop successfully connects to the internet and the gateway shows wireless activity (that little green light).  This is my first attempt to connect a laptop since I moved up from DSL to u-verse.  I had no problem connecting a laptop when I had DSL.  So, what's going on here and how do I fix it?  What exactly does that message mean?  As I scroll down the diagnostic detail on the laptop it says:  "Connectable: No, Reason: 0x00028002".  Does that help and if so, what does it tell you?

I'm determined to make this work, as it should be a simple thing, without paying someone for information that should be readily available.  (Please don't suggest ConnecTech.)

Thank you for your help.   

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Employee

• 

12 Messages

10 years ago

Try changing the authentication type on the RG's wireless settings to WEP-Open

To do this type in your browser (desktop that works) - 192.168.1.254

Click on Settings, then LAN, then Wireless.

Switch it to WEP-Open then try to log into it again on the laptops. That could potentially get everything working. If not, an RG swap or a tech visit may be required.

If the RG asks for a passcode or access code, it's screen printed on the side of the RG.

Teacher

• 

22 Messages

10 years ago

Sorry, I forgot to mention...both computers (desktop & laptop) have Windows 7. Also, I did reboot both computers and unplug and reboot the gateway...more than once.

ACE - Master

• 

6.9K Messages

10 years ago