Need help connecting your router?
fareedb's profile

Teacher

• 

16 Messages

Friday, October 11th, 2013 8:16 PM

Internet Speed Drops After Multiple Computers Are Turned On

I am a newbie, so thanks in advance for everyone's insight, I recently upgraded my internet from Max to Max Plus and i added U300 Tv, the problem i am having is lets say i have my computer that is connected directly to the 3801HGV on as the first machine i turn on and i put on my laptop for say using the wireless it causes the wireless speed (via speedtest) to drop to running about 2MB down and 1 Up. now if i shut down the first machine and say connect my laptop only to the internet it shows 18+MB and 1.5 up and if i turn the same computer that is hooked directly to 3801 it now shows barely as getting 2-3MB down and barely 1 up. Now add the fact i wanted to run my old Linsys router as my wireless so i could use the N feature, i have connected the Linksys lan port to an available port on the 3801 and disabled the dhcp and left the wireless n on, same issue, now i am just using the ports as a switch on the linksys (no wireless n) and although everything is connected to the 3801 directly and using it's wireless it still drops considerable when i try to use another computer on the network. I am lost any help will be greatly appreciated, have a great weekend everyone.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

10 years ago

fareedb - Either coax or cat5 may work fine. The cat5 should have a slight edge. Regular STBs. like the wireless ones, are not worked as hard as the DVR. They even work wireless. But, the DVR needs to back feed the other STBs with recordings while recording/watching additional shows. So, it requires the best connection. Notice it is not offered wireless. So, if you have the choice, choose cat5. If COAX is easy, you can always try it & change if it is problematic.

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

10 years ago