For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
scuroangel's profile

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

Wednesday, January 9th, 2013 6:45 AM

The Uverse tv box causes lose of internet on my linksys WAP

Okay, so Ill start by saying hi, and this is my first time posting here. I'm not the most tech savy person around, but can sometimes figure things out, so any help is appreciated.

My equipment:

1 3801 ATT router/modem

1 wired box 

1 wireless box w/WAP for reception

1 linksys e1000 router

Setup:

I have set up the linkysys router so that it is hard wired to the the RG ATT router, and acts as a WAP. The linksys router was neceassray because part of my house doesn't get reception from the RG router. On the linksys I have turned off DCHP, NAT, and firewall, assuming the RG will handle that. I also set the IP address of the liksys to 192.168.1.253 in the subnet 255.255.255.0. For the RG router I have set it to assign IPs from 192.168.1.1-192.168.1.250. It is also on the subnet 255.255.255.0. Both routers are set to the same SSID and PW for easy roaming. 

The Problem:

My linksys router on the other side of the house works perfect for internet on wireless/lan connections. The problem comes in when I hardwire my or attach the supplied WAP wireless box adapter to the linksys access point. The internet still works when the box is attached, but when I turn the UVersse box on and watch tv, it prevents all internter (hardwired and wireless) on the linksys router. The moment I turn the box off connected to the linkysys router, the interent starts working again on the linksys router. Regardless, the internet always works when connected to the RG router, even when the linksys internet stops working.