dgeiste's profile

Mentor

• 

46 Messages

Sunday, June 30th, 2013 1:47 PM

HDMI vs. Composite and HDMI selector switch

Searched the forums for this with no results, but I'm sure this has been discussed ad naseum at some point in the past.

My TV is an older plasma and only has one HDMI port. I have to use the HDMI on the TV for my home theater, so I'm forced to use composite for watching TV.

The uverse installer mentioned that composite only does 720 dpi. I'm new to uverse, but is that true? I had him set the uverse box to 1080i and it's fine. Just trying to determine the truth here.

I know there's been much discussion whether a difference is really seen between composite and HDMI, but if I can get even a slightly better picture with HDMI, I can look into an HDMI input selector switch.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

11 years ago

dgeiste - Glad you asked. We do not want to spread misinformation.

First thing is composite is not HD. The correct word is component. Easy to slip I have done it myself.

Composite is a single yellow RCA jack for SD video & the red/white for analog stereo audio.

Component is three RCA jacks for analog HD video & the red/white for analog Stereo audio.

Some TVs may use the same yellow component jack for the composite jack.

Component is analog HD. HDMI is digital HD. Component goes up to 1080i. HDMI is required to move up to 1080p. HDMI or other digital connection (e.g. coax or optical) is required for surround sound.