Troubleshoot your device issues
joebednarz's profile

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Wednesday, July 8th, 2009 1:43 PM

WiFi question

I'm new to the E71x (in fact it still hasn't been delivered to me yet) but was wondering something.  The saleswoman at the AT&T kiosk in the mall said the E71x is a great phone (which I agree) and it can even function as a wireless access point for others to connect to the internet...I've done some searching for "access point" and "E71x" and haven't found anything supporting this claim.

Has anyone else heard this before; does this really work?  And if so, how?

Not a deal-breaker for me as to getting the phone, just a curious question... 

Accepted Solution

Scholar

• 

163 Messages

15 years ago

I think, her terminology was incorrect.

E71x can act as a modem, for pc internet connection. i.e tethering. 

Wireless accesspoint, i dont think so. 

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

15 years ago

Suspected as such... so tethering is not a problem with the E71x... cool.

Thanks for the reply. 

Master

• 

5.9K Messages

15 years ago

@joebednarz wrote:

Suspected as such... so tethering is not a problem with the E71x... cool.

Thanks for the reply. 

Tethering requires one of the data plans specifically designated for tethered usage (not the basic smartphone/PDA unlimited data plan) - otherwise you could put yourself in the position of being charged at at&t's pay per use rate ($0.01 per kB) for tethered usage on their data network. 😞
Message Edited by hme83 on 07-13-2009 01:13:25 PM

Scholar

• 

332 Messages

15 years ago

Yes, it can...there is a free application in Ovi Store '"Joiku Spot Light" . This app converts your phone in a hotspot...You can open your laptop and will list your phone as an available free wifi connection,and will connect you to the internet using Medianet access. Also,other laptops around you can connect as well...I tried that in my Nokia N81 and it worked. That phone was not 3G,so it connected at EDGE speeds.