fool58's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Monday, August 11th, 2014 10:55 PM

Where is the Hallmark Channel?

I am new to At&t U verus. I was told when I signed up the Hallmark Channel was available.  It took me a week to finally realize you don't have it. Very misleading.

ACE - Expert

• 

35K Messages

10 years ago

@SomeJoe7777 wrote:

@JefferMC wrote:

I doubt Crown will accept the correspondingly lower number of subscribers at the offered price, so they'd want yet more money per subscriber.

Why not?  It's revenue, and additional audience for advertisers.

Because if it were that simple, the deal would have been done years ago.

What great seismic shift do you foresee that would get the sides to move to such a marketplace?

Expert

• 

9.4K Messages

10 years ago

I think several factors make a market concept more possible now that it used to be:

1. Smaller content providers are being pushed out of the market because distributors won't pay their demanded price. Some of those content providers might like a market concept because it lets them get more subscribers.

2. There are many more distributors now. It's not just the big cable and satellite companies, but smaller providers have entered the marketplace. If IPTV delivery becomes commonplace (which it's moving towards), virtually anyone could have a small distribution company. Hotels, restaurants, etc. could each become their own mini-distributor, and buy only the channels that they need for their business in the marketplace.

3. Congress and associated representatives are beginning to notice the constant arguments and dropping of channels that's happening more and more frequently now. If something doesn't change, the threat of additional regulation looms. Content providers and content distributors would be wise to implement such a marketplace on their own to avoid that.