For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
BillTX's profile

Explorer

• 

18 Messages

Friday, September 26th, 2014 2:43 AM

Non-published numbers

We have two voice lines from U-verse.  Both were supposed to be non-published numbers and I have been paying for this on both lines for several years now.  Actually, the second line was changed to unlisted some time ago and it was several months before I noticed the price reduction from $4.95/mo to $2.50/mo.  I did not consent to this change and only noticed it when we began receiving unwanted marketing calls.  I called AT&T and was assured the line would be placed back in non-published status.  My next bill so reflected.

However, my latest bill did not include the $4.95 charge so I again called AT&T.  On this call, I was informed that I could not have two non-published numbers and that the second number could only be unlisted.  

This evening, I received a call from AT&T informing me that the second line could not even be unlisted, that AT&T's policy requires a second line be a listed number, and that the second line was already published in directory listings.  A check of listings revealed that to be true and it explains the garbage calls we have been receiving on the second line.  (Don't even suggest the Do-Not-Call list---it has become totally useless because the Feds make no effort to enforce it.) 

What possible logic causes AT&T to insist a second line be listed?  We will probably give up the second line---its usefulness has become exceded by its nuisance calls.

I can understand why so many people are giving up land lines altogether and we are certainly considering so doing.  Our Verizon WIreless is infinitely more responsive to customer requests than AT&T and it's U-verse step-child.

I did ask for a call from someone high enough on the totem pole to explain the listed number requirement but I will be overwhelming surprised to receive it.

• 

25.7K Messages

10 years ago