Protect yourself online
klusignolo's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Tuesday, August 2nd, 2011 8:19 PM

Motorola 2210-02-1att Modem possible toubleshooting help?

I recently signed up for the 3mbps Uverse High Speed internet. My problem is that I'm only recieving and average of .15 mbps. I've already made sure that the signal is not the problem because I've placed my modem and router in an optimal location. I think the problem is something to do with the modem, but I could be wrong there. I connected directly to the modem and looked up the statistics. However, I'm no professional on how to read them, so I would appreciate it if someone could give me input. Here they are:

To Modem     To Internet
Data Rate (kbps)           224                  256
SNR Margin (dB)           1.0                    7.0
Line Attenuation (dB)    63.5                 31.5
Output power (dBm)     11.7                 11.9
Loss of signal                0                       9996
Loss of frame                0                       0
CRC Errors                    50360              221

The things that stand out to me the most are the Loss of signal and the CRC errors. Those both seem like higher than normal numbers. Although, I'm not exactly sure what the 'normal' numbers look like. I'd appreciate any feedback. Let me know if you need more info!

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Mentor

• 

78 Messages

13 years ago

The SNR Margin showing 1.0dB downstream and 7.0dB upstream is a real problem here. The Signal Noise Ratio Margin should NEVER be under 6.0dB either direction because the DSL signal becomes unstable. Things that cause the SNR to be low:
incorrectly filtered phones
damaged data cables
data cables that are longer than 10-15ft
alarms systems that are not filtered correctly
distance issues (as in you're too far from the CO/DSLAM for the DSL speed you subscribe to)
Defective Modems