Need your talk or text logs?
cschmid10's profile

Contributor

• 

1 Message

Sunday, May 4th, 2014 3:32 AM

iPhone 5s using large amounts of data

So, I am new to at&t and ahve the iphone 5s.  I checked my data usuage and noticed some pretty large chunks of data being used at once. Even at times where I have been connected to wifi.  Below is one example. 55,077 KBs is an extremely large amount of data to have been used.  I have no idea were all my data is going.  Anyone have any solutions?

04/29/2014 12:00PM
--
Internet/mobile data55077.0 KBs

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Master

• 

4.1K Messages

10 years ago

@cschmid10 wrote:

So, I am new to at&t and ahve the iphone 5s.  I checked my data usuage and noticed some pretty large chunks of data being used at once. Even at times where I have been connected to wifi.  Below is one example. 55,077 KBs is an extremely large amount of data to have been used.  I have no idea were all my data is going.  Anyone have any solutions?

04/29/2014 12:00PM
--
Internet/mobile data55077.0 KBs

There are several things you need to make sure you understand here.  First off, just because you are in an area that has wifi doesn't mean that you iPhone will always use it.  Apple has configured the iOS (OS running on the iPhone) to turn off teh wifi radio if the device reaches a certain stage in the "sleep process".  The iPhone could still be transferring data (like streaming audio) but the OS running on it decides that it is time to turn off the wifi radio to save some battery life.

Next up is the way the data is reported to you from AT&T.  Since some data usage isn't "real time" (it can be delayed up to 3 days for domestic data, and longer for international).  Often when you see a large number like that on your statement/usage, what you are seeing is a roll-up of billing data from a couple sources (and time spans) all rolled into one billing line on your billing detail.