Need your talk or text logs?
DBChas's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Wednesday, May 24th, 2017 11:05 PM

Streaming

The plan I've chosen allows for purchase of data up to 250 MB for $5 more. The plan states clearly that streaming will be turned on by default even if it was previously turned off. I'm new to this plan, having come over from a simple plan whereby I paid $25 for refills and was charged $1 per day for usage plus cost per minute. The $25 was good for 3 months, but I found that I was refilling far more often than that, which prompted me to change to a different (monthly) plan.

AT&T indicates that the average film, for instance, is about 1.5 GB at standard def. But, as stated, my $5 gets me only 25 MB of data per month--if, that is, I pay the $5. Well, 250 MB is not 1.5 GB. If I wanted to stream a film, how would that work? I can't find anywhere here information regarding this problem. I presume I'd be charged for over-usage of data were I to stream a film, given that 1.5 GB is substantially more than the 250 MB I can purchase for $5.

I'm not at all clear on how this is supposed to work. Can anyone clarify? If you see what I mean?

Thanks to any who can help.

ACE - Sage

• 

116.6K Messages

7 years ago

On this plan when you use up the 250, you have no more data service.  If you want to stream over cellular, this isn't the plan for you.  The $45 plan provides 6 gigs of data, the $65 plan is unlimited.  

ACE - Expert

• 

64.7K Messages

7 years ago

Once you use up your 250mb, I believe your data simply stops. To continue using any data, you would need to purchase another 250mb. At that rate of $5 for each 250mb, you would spend $30 buying enough data to stream that 1.5GB movie. You would be much better off to switch to the $45 plan ($40 with autopay). That plan includes 6 GB of data.

ACE - Expert

• 

16.5K Messages

7 years ago

As Chief Brody said, "You're gonna need a bigger boat plan."