For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Need your talk or text logs?
hdale7's profile

Tutor

• 

3 Messages

Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008 9:41 PM

Closed

Help on an external attennae for a Sierra Wireless Compass 885 Card

I am running a Sierra C885 card on 3G network. I am new to this wireless thing and have finally adjusted it where I can get usually 3 bars at about 82db. I want to boost signal and db speed because at times it runs super slow and I disconnect: weather and peak usage times I guess. I found something that might work but am unsure if this can just plug into my card/ it plugs into the USB port, I guess some cards are inside the computer. It has a spot for something/antenna to plug in. I want to purchase this antenna but will I have to get anything else or can I just plug in and be ready. I don't know anything about this company but seems fairly cheap. Radio Shack wanted about 60 dollars for an antenna and then I would have had to buy an adaptor which was like 13 dollars. Anyways, here's the link I am looking at. Is this company good, any other one I should look at, and is this everything I need to just plug in and go. I see it has an adaptor cable but do I still have to buy a special adaptor or not so the cable can plug into it. I don't mean to sound dumb but I've had this about a month and am totally new to this wireless stuff. I just want a little bit of a speed and signal boost. Thank you all.

Antenna Gear http://www.antennagear.net/servlet/the-485/External-Booster-Antenna-Sierra/Detail

Message Edited by hdale7 on 12-23-2008 01:46:19 PM

Accepted Solution

Tutor

• 

3 Messages

15 years ago