Explore & discover

Helpful Links

HR24 to HDMI splitter - Copy protection?

Contributor

HR24 to HDMI splitter - Copy protection?

So something odd happened this evening for the first time.  I have an HR24 in our master bedroom and have HDMI coming off of this to an HDMI splitter behind our TV.

From there, the split goes two ways:  one to the flat-screen in the master bedroom, and the other to the small TV in the bathroom.

I should state that to-date, this has worked flawlessly.  We could watch both TVs at the same time and the output from the HR24 was mirrored on both displays without issue.

As of tonight, however, we seem to only be able to get the TV in the bathroom to work.  Initially I thought it was the splitter so I went out and purchased a new one by Rocketfish from Best Buy and hooked it up hoping that it would work.  Same issue -- TV in the bedroom displays only a black screen; TV in the bathroom works flawlessly.

So, as odd as it sounds, I thought perhaps the HDMI cable I was using went bad, so I headed back over to Best Buy and purchased a 4' Monster HDMI cable.  Now, if I am using the new Rocketfish splitter, with the new HDMI cable, the TV in the bathroom continues to work flawlessly, however the TV in the bedroom now gives me a "Your TV does not support this program's content protection" error message.

So, reverting back to the old splitter with the new HDMI cable, again, bathroom TV works great; bedroom TV is in all-black screen.

I'm at a loss here.  I've done a bit of reading about HDCP but it sounds like this has been around for awhile -- why is this just affecting me tonight?  Is there any way to mirror the HDMI output from the HR24 to both of my TVs ?  Everything has been working great and this is going to be extremely inconvenient if it no longer works for some reason.

Thoughts?

-Stuart

Message 1 of 7
ACE - Expert

Re: HR24 to HDMI splitter - Copy protection?