Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Why pay DirectTV to fix equipment owned by DirecTV?

Teacher

Why pay DirectTV to fix equipment owned by DirecTV?

The problem is that I believe I have a marginallhy bad LNB (one of three) as I have been an electronic engineer for 30 years and these things are easy to diagnose.  I lose some channels dueing the hotest part of the day while others work fine.  The 771 message says searching for signal.  I understand failures can occur, but I am not understanding what I heard from DirecTV about the cost to send someone here to fix it. I think this URL pretty much says it all... http://glenhamilton.com/DIRECTV.htm

After 12 years being a customer at this location and 7 years at another location, DirecTV doesn't care anything about customer loyalty.  I called my cable company to see about costs and apparently it cost nothing to install equipment, nothing to come repair it if it fails, nothing for extra room receivers, and nothing to cancel if I want to stop the service and take back the equipment.  Looks like I will be switching soon.

So here I am wondering why I should pay $50 for a service call that is clearly to fix a problem with the equipment when it still is owned by DirecTV and most customers even have to pay an initial fee to get the equipment in the first place.  Doesn't sound right that customers should have to pay for equipment, pay installation, pay for service, and then still give it back at the end of service.  It is entirely opposite of what the cable company is doing, and the cost of the provided channel content is the same!

Message 1 of 55
Contributor

Re: Why pay DirectTV to fix equipment owned by DirecTV?