Explore & discover

Helpful Links

USB Port

Highlighted
Contributor

USB Port

Hello,

I am new to DTV.

On the back of my DVR there's a USB port. However, I can't find in the manual what it is used for. Can anyone help?

TIA,

M7

Message 1 of 9
ACE - Expert
Solution
Accepted by ACE - Expert (ACE - Expert)
Accepted by litzdog911
‎01-05-2018 1:33 PM

Re: USB Port

It's not really used for anything.  Once upon a time DirecTV offered an off-air tuner accessory (AM21) that used the USB port.  

*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Tags (1)
Message 2 of 9
Contributor

I am trying to charge a Bluetooth transmitter thru the Direct TV USB port . Doesn’t work . Help

Message 3 of 9
ACE - Expert

@Dinosaur82 wrote:

I am trying to charge a Bluetooth transmitter thru the Direct TV USB port . Doesn’t work . Help

What model DVR/Receiver?

The USB port should be able to provide power.  I have my HR44 USB port connected to a cooling fan and it powers that just fine. 

*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Message 4 of 9
Contributor

HR24 200  Our service won' t support the genie. There is a port but nothing happens.
Message 5 of 9
ACE - Expert

Have you tried the one in front?

Message 6 of 9
ACE - Expert

@Dinosaur82 wrote:
HR24 200  Our service won' t support the genie. There is a port but nothing happens.

Genie can work with regular HDDVRs (HR20 thru HR24, and special R22), as well as HD non-DVRs (H21 thru H25). The difference is Genie (and H25) is SWM only where the other models can use both the old and new cabling system. A Genie upgrade would update the cabling and such as needed.